Ashworth Recipient Among 300 Honored Banquet

2016 Ashworth Recipient Among 300 Honored
This is the image for the news article titled 2016 Ashworth Recipient Among 300 Honored

May 12, 2016 – An educator whose work led to expanded career opportunities for students and created a pipeline for graduates to transition to their next steps is the winner of Amarillo ISD’s most notable service distinction—the Bob Ashworth Award for Outstanding Service. LeAnn Estep, Director of Career and Technical Education, accepted the award at AISD’s annual Service Recognition Banquet on May 2.

In the letter nominating Estep, she is credited, among other things, with playing a key role in implementing the successful PRO internship program.  PRO, or Pursuing Real Opportunities, is a community-wide effort that helps AISD students identify career paths and then matches those students with internship opportunities in their chosen professions. For Estep, every step of her career in education contributed to the vision she was able to realize as head of the District’s career and technical education programs. “As a classroom teacher, my goal was to inspire students to reach their potential.  I dreamed of making the kind of impact my teachers were able to make on me,” said Estep. “Being able to implement programs on a district level that impact not only students but the community has allowed me to dream bigger.”

Additionally, Estep’s nomination lauds her for building stronger apprenticeship programs for students to move seamlessly into a trade upon graduation, and for working with campus leadership to develop new opportunities for in-school skilled training in technology and industry.

The Bob Ashworth Award annually recognizes an employee with an outstanding career of service to students and staff. The award honors Ashworth, who was superintendent of AISD from 1958 to 1978.  Estep’s portrait will hang in the Rod Schroder Education Support Center board room. She will retire at the end of the school year, with 17 years of service to AISD.

More than 90 other AISD retirees were honored at the banquet, along with some 200 employees receiving 20, 25, 30, 35 and 40-year service pins. Together, their combined years of service total more than 6,300 years.

Amarillo ISD is the city’s largest employer, with more than 4,100 people educating and supporting the district’s 33,000 students.

Bob Ashworth Award for Outstanding Service Nominees 2016

Marshall Chesser, Fannin Middle School
Mellessa Denny, Amarillo High
Shawna Doshier, Palo Duro High
LeAnn Estep, Rod Schroder ESC
Melinda Gabbard, Bowie Middle School
Ronnie Hamilton, Carver Elem. Academy
Barbara Hillburn, Rod Schroder ESC
Danielle Holbrook-Compton, Crockett Middle School
Diana Houk, Austin Middle School
A.J. Johnson, Palo Duro High
Matthew Kelly, Travis Middle School
Teresa Martinez, Lawndale Elementary
Lorraine Mettham, Rod Schroder ESC
Wanda Powell, Oak Dale Elementary
Edna Schwartz, Rogers Elementary
Sam Steen, North Heights Alternative
Kelli Schaap, Amarillo High
Billy Talley, Tascosa High
Lori Thomason, Rod Schroder ESC
Irma Walker, Wolflin Elementary
Tim White, Bivins Elementary
David Williams, Amarillo High
Michelle Womble, Crockett Middle School

Retiring Employees and Years of Service

Brenda Adams 35 Rod Schroder ESC
Gwyn Bagot 40 Avondale
Sandy Beilue 25 Coronado
Kimberly Benson 30 THS
Terry Boulware 19 Rod Schroder ESC
Truetta Brandt 32 THS
Debbie Butler 26 Houston
Yolanda Capetillo 22 Emerson
Becky Cook 34 Eastridge
Debbie Davis 16 AHS
Kathy Dawson 21 South Lawn
Shirley Dickey 21 Emerson
James Doan 13 Fannin
Betty Duran 30 Sanborn
Cynthia Elders 34 Sleepy Hollow
Joe Elizardo 26 AACAL
Kim Escobar 30 Park West
Richard Esparza 31 Western Plateau
LeAnn Estep 17 Rod Schroder ESC
Kathy Freeman 21 Windsor
Lucy Gaete 20 Eastridge
Karen Gore 29 Rod Schroder ESC
Sheryl Griffin 21 Bivins
Cindi Haliburton 24 Bowie
Kathy Hazelwood 26 PDHS
Debra Hezekiah 11 Eastridge
Les Hoyt 23 Rod Schroder ESC
Sue Hudson 11 Sleepy Hollow
Jay Hufstedler 13 AHS
Jesse Hunnicutt 25 Allen
Diane Hunt 29 PDHS
Carolyn Immel 17 THS
Khristi Jones 22 Bonham
Rex Jones 20 Pleasant Valley
Kathy Kendle 23 Fannin
Melinda Koster 34 PDHS
Cindy Lanham 33 Whittier
Paula Lawrence 10 Sunrise
Lisa Love 24 South Georgia
Jana Lupu 30 Austin
Rex Martin 8 AHS
Denise Matchett 33 Western Plateau
Tommy McLain 23 Maintenance
Robyn McMennamy 33 THS
Lorraine Mettham 27 Rod Schroder ESC
Mary Mjolhus 13 Forest Hill
Terri Morgan 23 CHS
Vicki Mueller 18 Austin
Fran Muniz 14 Fannin
Gary Murphy 24 PDHS
Starrla Myers 19 South Georgia
Pat Needham 10 Emerson
Tina Nino 23 Sanborn
Gerald Nipp Jr. 32 AACAL
David Nitsche 25 AACAL
Kim Oldham 1 Travis
Kathy Osborne 21 Olsen Park
Jeanne Pendergrass 31 Windsor
Amy Pennington 23 Belmar
Debra Perry 17 Humphrey's Highland
Kathy Phillips 32 Houston
Lisa Popejoy 17 de Zavala
Melissa Raleigh 36 Belmar
Denise Rayford 23 Palo Duro
Brenda Reese 12 Rod Schroder ESC
Kathy Reese 7 Travis
Marilyn Rigler 26 AHS
Cody Rust 28 South Georgia
Debby Rutherford 28 PDHS
LInda Saddoris 20 Bonham
Carolyn Sim 27 Bivins
Cindy Smith 21 Eastridge
Mike Smith 21 de Zavala
Randy Smith 24 Rod Schroder ESC
Donna Stamp 11 Bonham
Linda Stanhope 25 AACAL
Susan Statser 28 Carver
Sam Steen 43 North Heights
Vicky Stocker 14 Coronado
Teresa Stone 12 Forest Hill
Mary Stuart 24 Lawndale
John Sutton Jr. 19 Maintenance
Robert Taute 37 Maintenance
Sheryl Taylor 11 Paramount Terrace
Margaret Thompson 37 South Lawn
Peggy Trosper 16 Bonham
Margaret Webb 17 Hamlet
Cheryl Whatley 15 AHS
Tim White 23 Bivins
Cristy Wilkinson 36 Rod Schroder ESC
Belinda Winters 31 THS

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.