Ashworth Winner Committed to AISD Core Values

Ashworth Winner Committed to AISD Core Values
This is the image for the news article titled Ashworth Winner Committed to AISD Core Values

May 15, 2018 – A purchasing supervisor who is retiring with 33-years of service to Amarillo ISD is the recipient of the District’s highest employee honor.  Lori Thomason was recognized with the 2018 Bob Ashworth Award at the District’s annual Service Recognition Banquet on May 7.

The Bob Ashworth Award nomination submitted on Thomason’s behalf commends her steadfast dedication to customer service, a Core Value of Amarillo ISD. “Patience is essential when understanding complex bids and working with departments and vendors who may or may not know what they want or need to accomplish their goals,” writes AISD Director of Purchasing Gary Elliott, who nominated Lori for the Ashworth Award. “Lori demonstrates a special kindness to everyone she works with or deals with daily in AISD. I believe everyone at AISD feels her sense of service to the District, as well as her goodness, and enjoys working with her,” the nomination continues.  

The Bob Ashworth Award annually recognizes an employee with an outstanding career of service to students and staff. The award is named after Ashworth, who was superintendent of AISD from 1958 to 1978.  Thomason’s portrait will hang outside the Rod Schroder Education Support Center boardroom.

More than 175 AISD employees were honored at the banquet receiving 20, 25, 30, 35, 40 and 45-year service pins. Of those retiring, their combined experience totaled 1,973 years. Among the notable retirees are longtime Hamlet Elementary Principal Kym Daniel, who retires after 40 years in education and Susan Nelson, retiring after 49 years of teaching math—45 of those at Wolflin Elementary.  Service pin honoree Debra Beene, with thirty-five years of service to the District, has spent the past 30 years as an eighth-grade math and Algebra I teacher at Crockett Middle School.

AISD is the city’s largest employer with more than 4,000 employees educating and supporting the district’s 33,000 students.

Bob Ashworth Award Nominees:

Teresa Bass – Special Education Assistant, AHS

David Bishop – Chief Leadership & Support Officer, ESC

Leah Clugy – Teacher, Carver

Linda Cunningham – Administrative Secretary, ESC

Claire Davis – Teacher, PDHS

Ronnie Hamilton – Teacher, Carver

Jill Howard – Teacher, Landergin

Jill Humphrey – AmeriCorps Program Director, ESC

Starla Kelley – Teacher, AHS

Cody Myers – Fine Arts Director, ESC

Abby Salter – Teacher, Carver

Edna Schwartz – Social Worker, Rogers

Lori Thomason – Purchasing Supervisor, ESC

Beverly Zearley – Teacher, Paramount Terrace

Retiring Employees and Years of Service:

Jill Miller 30
Don Dean 24
Cindy Sickles 9
Karen McWilliams 24
Irene Delgado 17
Cecilia Rodriguez 38
Renita Pollard 11
Billy Prescott 18
Jan Barker 35
Jackie Brazille 22
Jan SoRelle 16
Cindy McCormick 5
Helen Lollar 30
Beth Burt 13
Virginia Luna 25
Rosa Guzman 25
Melissa Schooler 28
Mercy Perez 32
Jill Humphery 28
Pat Preciado 26
Mark Stewart 30
Shelly Kerr 28
Terri Witt 4
Gini Robertson-Baker 32
David Hunt 8
Gus Perez 17
Jeffrey Ryan 9
Jeanette Moeller 19
Terri Long 23
Jan Robinson 19
Kathy Harris 13
Martha Wright 7
Karen Wells 37
Velma Rojas 8
Belinda Michel 30
Kym Daniel 40
Donna Cummings 33
Dorothy Guggemos 28
Jim Clifford 14
Kathryn Brooks 8
Twila Hiltbrunner 25
Leslie Fullbright 35
Sue Sutphin 5
Jana Leach 27
Hilda Easley 21
Marla Lockhart 26
Traci Pylant 28
Robin Crawford 4
Teresa Griffin 30
Paula Hogue 5
Debra Davidson 23
Jana Duncan 32
Carrie Hendrick 32
Lisa Oliver 38
Paula Avirett 17
Kenda Dunaway 16
Cindy Carter 23
Rhonda Durrett 13
Melinda Felton 38
Julie Harris 30
Kim Benson 35
John Adams 26
Susan Scott 26
Pat Brooks 20
Phillip Schmidt 29
Erik Buzzard 25
Sylvia Hernandez 20
Monica Guerrero 26
Lupe Kelley 19
Susan Nelson 49
Bama Coward 23
Sandra Booth 33
Dolores Little 21
Karen Smith 19
Ana Moore 30
Anthony Hoppe 15
Lori Thomason 33
Carola Ashworth 14
Doug Fowler 18
Cody Myers 21
Betty Richardson 11
Diane Hernandez 33
Cynthia Burrow 6
Wanda Laplount 22
Jeff Timmons 8
Bruce Collins 13
Julie Collins 13
Debbie England 26
Becky Clark 8

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.