Finalists Announced for District Teacher of the Year

Finalists Announced for District Teacher of the Year
TOY Logo 2017

March 22, 2017 – Six extraordinary educators will represent their 2,300 some odd counterparts as district finalists for the Amarillo ISD Teacher of the Year program next month. These educators epitomize the hard working staff throughout Amarillo ISD – focusing their time and attention on meeting the needs of a varied student population.

“It is truly an honor for us to recognize these Teachers of the Year for the effort they put in to each one of our students,” Denise Blanchard, program director for community partnerships, said. “They are representative of the quality, talented and dedicated teachers we have in our schools.”

The Teacher of the Year selection committee, comprised of district staff, a parent, a student and community leaders, reads through the applications of all campus representatives before choosing six finalists. These finalists, three each from elementary and secondary schools, are then interviewed for the coveted Elementary and Secondary Teacher of the Year honors.

Elementary Finalists:

  • Dalena Blacksten, Belmar Elementary School
  • Molly Kyle, San Jacinto Elementary School
  • Christy Corder, South Georgia Elementary School

Secondary Finalists:

  • Kay Sherwood, Amarillo High School
  • Amanda Head, Caprock High School
  • Heather Downer, Bowie 6th Grade Campus

Campus Teachers of the Year:

  • Itinerant Teaching Staff – Dominic Pinis
  • AACAL – Daron McBee
  • *Amarillo High School – Kay Sherwood
  • *Caprock High School – Amanda Head
  • North Heights High School – Lance Weis
  • Palo Duro High School – Ismael Alfaro
  • Tascosa High School – Marissa Norsworthy
  • Allen 6th Grade Campus – Amanda Longbine
  • Austin Middle School – Micah Somerville
  • Bonham Middle School – Doris Leverett
  • Bowie Middle School – Wendy Ortiz
  • *Bowie 6th Grade Campus – Heather Downer
  • Crockett Middle School – Allison Neusch
  • de Zavala Middle School – Ashley Hughes
  • Fannin Middle School – Eric Sheen
  • Houston Middle School – Whitnye Williams
  • Mann Middle School – Billie Bates
  • Travis Middle School – Matthew Kelly
  • Travis 6th Grade Campus – Anna Gregory
  • Avondale Elementary School – Kelsey Williams
  • *Belmar Elementary School – Dalena Blacksten
  • Bivins Elementary School – Angie Smith
  • Carver Academy – Lauren Galegor
  • Carver Early Childhood Academy – Darinda Bergeron
  • Coronado Elementary School – Sarah Tawwater
  • Eastridge Elementary School – Lena Cordova
  • Emerson Elementary School – Christina Painter
  • Forest Hill – Blanca Ortiz
  • Glenwood Elementary School – Leticia Fletcher
  • Hamlet Elementary School – Kristen Sanchez
  • Humphrey’s Highland Elementary School – Dolores Hernandez
  • Lamar Elementary School – Debbie Thomas


  • Landergin Elementary School – Savannah Wright
  • Lawndale Elementary School – Myra Johnson
  • Lee Elementary School – Erica Reese
  • Mesa Verde Elementary School – T. Michelle Rodriguez
  • Oak Dale Elementary School – Kimberly Davis
  • Olsen Park Elementary School – Stacy Gjerde
  • Paramount Terrace Elementary School – Reagan Ashlock
  • Pleasant Valley Elementary School – Tricia Taylor
  • Puckett Elementary School – D’Lynn Niblock
  • Ridgecrest Elementary School – Elaine Burdett
  • Rogers Elementary School – Abbie Eaves
  • Sanborn Elementary School – Billie Jean Chacon
  • *San Jacinto Elementary School – Molly Kyle
  • Sleepy Hollow Elementary School – Jessica Winks
  • *South Georgia Elementary School – Christy Corder
  • South Lawn Elementary School – Kalli Luther
  • Sunrise Elementary School – Tricia Dominguez
  • Tradewind Elementary School – Dorisa Dunavin
  • Western Plateau Elementary School – D. Kristie Yeary
  • Whittier Elementary School – Kelly Gee
  • Wills Elementary School – Cindy Rhoten
  • Windsor Elementary School – Sharon Saultz
  • Wolflin Elementary School – Nina Moreno
  • Woodlands Elementary School – Kristi King


All campus winners are invited to the Lamar Lively Teacher of the Year breakfast on May 5, where their commitment to education will be applauded. The Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year are announced at the breakfast.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.