Finalists Announced for Teacher of the Year

Finalists Announced for District Teacher of the Year

March 31, 2016 – Six extraordinary educators will represent their 2,300 some odd counterparts as district finalists for the Amarillo ISD Teacher of the Year program next month. These educators epitomize the hard working staff throughout Amarillo ISD – focusing their time and attention on meeting the needs of a varied student population.

“It is truly an honor for us to recognize these Teachers of the Year for the effort they put in to each one of our students,” Denise Blanchard, program director for community partnerships, said. “They are representative of the quality, talented and dedicated teachers we have in our schools.”

The Teacher of the Year selection committee, comprised of district staff, a parent, a student and community leaders, reads through the applications of all campus representatives before choosing six finalists. These finalists, three each from elementary and secondary schools, are then interviewed for the coveted Elementary and Secondary Teacher of the Year honors.

Elementary Finalists:

  • Carol Winn, Humphrey’s Highland Elementary School
  • Katelyn Malone, Rogers Elementary School
  • Julie Ross, South Georgia Elementary School

 Secondary Finalists:

  • Britni Nuckols, de Zavala Middle School
  • Mary Malone, Caprock High School
  • David Williams, Amarillo High School

Campus Teachers of the Year:     

  • Itinerant Teaching Staff – Nikki Forrest
  • AACAL – Rena’ Kuehler
  • *Amarillo High School – David Williams
  • *Caprock High School – Mary Malone
  • North Heights High School – Lacy Nelson
  • Palo Duro High School – Jennifer Aduddell
  • Tascosa High School – Billy Talley
  • Allen 6th Grade Campus – Michael Cannon
  • Austin Middle School – Rod Zeman
  • Bonham Middle School – Heidi Parsons
  • Bowie Middle School – Kellye Clouse
  • Bowie 6th Grade Campus – Cyndy Stapleton
  • Crockett Middle School – Brenda Delaney
  • *de Zavala Middle School – Britni Nuckols
  • Fannin Middle School – Jordan Ward
  • Houston Middle School – Kami Thomas
  • Mann Middle School – Kim Shreffler
  • Travis Middle School – Patrick Miller
  • Travis 6th Grade Campus – Eric Dennis
  • Avondale Elementary School – Julia Madrigal
  • Belmar Elementary School – Cheryl Harper
  • Bivins Elementary School – Becky Hopper
  • Carver Academy – Kate McNeer
  • Carver Early Childhood Academy – Tiffany Cardwell
  • Coronado Elementary School – Jenna Splawn
  • Eastridge Elementary School – Tina Hook
  • Emerson Elementary School – Nadia Roldan
  • Forest Hill – Ana Convers
  • Glenwood Elementary School – Adriana Diaz


  • Hamlet Elementary School – Zack Crawford
  • *Humphrey’s Highland Elementary School – Carol Winn
  • Lamar Elementary School – Amy Redus
  • Landergin Elementary School – Julie Liedtke
  • Lawndale Elementary School – Rose Kelley
  • Lee Elementary School – Liang Sihanouraj
  • Mesa Verde Elementary School – Alysia Kysar
  • Oak Dale Elementary School – Candra Chandler
  • Olsen Park Elementary School – Stephanie Bowen
  • Paramount Terrace Elementary School – Amanda Robertson
  • Pleasant Valley Elementary School – Robin Tipps
  • Puckett Elementary School – Charlene Davis
  • Ridgecrest Elementary School – Sarah Leverett
  • *Rogers Elementary School – Katelyn Malone
  • Sanborn Elementary School – Jentry Knowlton
  • San Jacinto Elementary School – Trishia Ruiz
  • Sleepy Hollow Elementary School – Stephanie Elkins
  • *South Georgia Elementary School – Julie Ross
  • South Lawn Elementary School – Shelly Rodriguez
  • Sunrise Elementary School – Meg Davis
  • Tradewind Elementary School – Dedra Wiggins
  • Western Plateau Elementary School – Richard Esparza
  • Whittier Elementary School – Kokelene McClenny
  • Wills Elementary School – Janna Nelson
  • Windsor Elementary School – Sasha Garton
  • Wolflin Elementary School – Stacy Brock Stewart
  • Woodlands Elementary School – Kelly Wilson


All campus winners are invited to the Lamar Lively Teacher of the Year breakfast on May 6, where their commitment to education will be applauded. The Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year are announced at the breakfast.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.