Schroder Named Region 16 Superintendent of the Year

Schroder Named Region 16 Superintendent of the Year
This is the image for the news article titled Schroder Named Region 16 Superintendent of the Year Superintendent Schroder
Nominees Announced for 2014 Superintendent of the Year Award

From: Texas Association of School Boards

July 1, 2014-- Regional winners of the annual Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award have been announced. Sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), the SOTY program has recognized exemplary superintendents for excellence and achievement in educational leadership since 1984.

Regional superintendents of the year nominated by regional selection committees are A. Marcus Nelson, Laredo ISD, Education Service Center (ESC)1; Chad Kelly, Taft ISD, ESC 2; Jon Wunderlich, Weimar ISD, ESC 3; HD Chambers, Alief ISD, ESC 4; Mary Huckabay, Hull-Daisetta ISD, ESC 5; Thomas Wallis, Bryan ISD, ESC 6; Stan Surratt, Lindale ISD, ESC 7; Judy Pollan, Pittsburg ISD, ESC 8; Danny Taylor, Burkburnett ISD, ESC 9; Michael McFarland, Lancaster ISD, ESC 10; Karen Rue, Northwest ISD, ESC 11; James “Buck” Gilcrease, Hillsboro ISD, ESC 12; Mark E. Eads, San Marcos CISD, ESC 13; Heath Burns, Abilene ISD, ESC 14; Ron Cline, Paint Rock ISD, ESC 15; Rod Schroder, Amarillo ISD, ESC 16; Elbert Wuthrich, Whiteface CISD, ESC 17; and Jeff Cottrill, Knippa ISD, ESC 20.

Candidates are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education. Superintendents from any of Texas’ 1,030 local school districts are eligible for nomination by their school boards. Local nominees are submitted to a regional selection committee, which chooses one nominee to send to the state selection committee. 

The state committee will interview regional winners in Austin on August 22-23 and select five state finalists. The Superintendent of the Year will be announced September 26 at the TASA/TASB Convention in Dallas.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local public school districts. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5 million students.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.