Sleepy Hollow Principal Receives Service Award

Sleepy Hollow Principal Receives Outstanding Service Award
Doneice RayDoneice Ray
April 25, 2014 – On Monday, April 21, the Amarillo ISD Board of Trustees honored Sleepy Hollow Principal Doneice Ray with the annual Bob Ashworth Award for Outstanding Service to Amarillo ISD. Ray has been a part of AISD for 33 years, 23 of those years spent at Sleepy Hollow.

“Mrs. Ray is highly respected for her sincerity and integrity,” says Sleepy Hollow Secretary Sue Hudson in her nomination letter. “Her involvement with parents, teachers and students reflect not only her compassion, but her fairness and moral principles. Her faculty counts on her standard of integrity and the students expect, enjoy and appreciate her compassion.”

Ray has worked in education the majority of her life, teaching all around the world. She began her career as a third grade teacher in Missouri and from there taught in such places as San Antonio, Japan and Albuquerque before finding her way to Amarillo.

“Doneice is passionate about helping every student reach their goals and providing a safe, conducive environment where they are encouraged to take risks in their learning and be challenged in their thinking,” Elementary Personnel Director Karen Atkinson said. “At every campus she has served, Doneice has been an integral part of the community. Doneice is committed to the success of Amarillo ISD 24 hours a day and seven days a week.  She has the same high expectations of herself as she does of her staff and her students.”

The Bob Ashworth Award was established as a means of annually rewarding an AISD employee for outstanding service in recognition of Bob Ashworth’s dedicated service to the school system during his tenure as superintendent from 1958-1978.  Each year, a committee of at least three people is appointed by the superintendent to solicit nominations for this award. Employees are eligible for the award if they have been employed by the district for more than five years and have not received the award before. The recipient receives a cash award of $500, and their portrait is hung in the Education Support Center Board Room foyer.

Nominees for 2013-2014 include:
Kelli Adkins, School Secretary, Fannin Middle School
David Bishop, Principal, Caprock High School
Nelson Bishop, Math Teacher, Tascosa High School
James Doan, Head Night Custodian, Fannin Middle School
Doneice Ray, Principal, Sleepy Hollow Elementary
Mary Ann Dawson, Special Education Assistant, Amarillo High School
Christi Flatt, School Secretary, Woodlands Elementary
Keitha Keplinger, English Teacher, Bonham Middle School
Lorraine Mettham, Director of Library Services, Education Support Center
Vicki Mueller, English Language Arts Department Chair and Teacher, Austin Middle School
Kay Neagle, Counselor, Windsor and Belmar Elementary Schools
Susan Nelson, Fifth Grade Math and Science Teacher, Wolflin Elementary
Edna Schwartz, Social Worker, Rogers Elementary
Katie Smith-Little, PRO Instructor, AACAL
Linda Stanhope, CTE Department Chair and Instructor of Health Science, AACAL
Sharlene Taylor, Special Education Assistant, Tascosa High School
Shannon Teichmann, CTE Teacher and Administrative Assistant, Caprock High School
Lori Thomason, Purchasing Supervisor, Education Support Center
Linda Vaughn, Principal, Allen 6th Grade Campus
Mark Williams, English Teacher, North Heights Alternative School
Linda Wilson, Journalism Teacher, Caprock High School

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.