Western Plateau's Mr. Tommy Receives Service Award

Western Plateau Head Custodian Receives Service Award
Tommy Scott

May 12, 2015 – On May 4, the Amarillo ISD Board of Trustees honored Tommy Scott, head custodian at Western Plateau Elementary School, with the annual Bob Ashworth Award for Outstanding Service to AISD. Scott has served Western Plateau for 20 years, and will retire at the end of this school year.

Mr. Tommy, as Tommy Scott is affectionately called, is described in his nomination letter as a key figure in the lives of all at Western Plateau.

In the nomination letter, Mr. Tommy is called, “The heart and soul of the building,” and, “Even some of our toughest boys will follow rules and do their work because they don’t want him disappointed in them.”

Mr. Tommy works with the fifth-grade boys at Western Plateau on trash duty each day, ensuring each student is given guidance by a man who is a constant figure in their life. He acts as both a role model for these students and caregiver for the campus and its staff.

“Every parent knows him because he makes a special effort to visit with each one,” said the nomination letter. “Everyone has a tremendous amount of respect for him because they know he genuinely cares.”

Denise Olson, assistant director of fine arts and Bob Ashworth Award committee chair, explained of choosing a finalist, “Every nomination described an employee deserving of this award, and each told a story of an employee who works incredibly hard and has touched the lives of co-workers, families and the students we serve.”

The Bob Ashworth Award was established as a means of annually rewarding an AISD employee for outstanding service in recognition of Bob Ashworth’s dedicated service to the school system during his tenure as superintendent from 1958-1978.

Each year, a committee of at least three people is appointed by the superintendent to solicit nominations for this award. Employees are eligible for the award if they have been employed by the district for more than five years and have not received the award before. The recipient receives a cash award of $500, and their portrait is hung in the Education Support Center Board Room foyer.

Bob Ashworth Award for Outstanding Service Nominees:

  • Sharon Allison, Multiple Campuses
  • Debbie Armbruster, Lamar Elementary
  • Cindy Bennett, Sanborn Elementary
  • Nelson Bishop, Tascosa High School
  • Denise Blanchard, Education Support Center
  • Bobby Boswell, North Heights Alternative School
  • Patricia Brooks, Caprock High School
  • Johnnie Helms, Caprock High School
  • Kelly Hoppe, Palo Duro High School
  • Becky Hopper, Bivins Elementary
  • Teresa Kenedy, Migrant Coordinator
  • Jim Lawson, Maintenance Department
  • Erin Matthews, Crockett Middle School
  • Vicki Mueller, Austin Middle School
  • Misty Paddock, Lamar Elementary
  • Pamela Pleming, Windsor Elementary
  • Marsha Pronger, Sanborn Elementary
  • Lawana Pulliam, Forest Hill Elementary
  • Tommy Scott, Western Plateau Elementary
  • Jennifer White, Tascosa High School
  • Sandy Whitlow, Palo Duro High School
  • Cristy Wilkinson, Education Support Center
  • Denise Wiltcher, Carver Early Childhood Academy

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.