Skip to main content

Election To The Board


Amarillo Independent School District Board elections are held in odd numbered years on a Saturday in May. Board members are elected for four-year terms on a rotating basis. 

In 2021, there are four positions up for election on the Amarillo ISD seven-member Board of Trustees. These four positions are currently held by appointee Doyle Corder, Robin Malone, appointee Kayla Mendez and appointee David Nance. 

Filing Dates and Times:  January 13, 2021 – February 12, 2021 

Candidates appearing on the May 1, 2021, General Election Ballot are: 

1. Louis P. Montaño

2. Bennie D. Anderson

3. Charles D’Amico

4. Doyle Corder, incumbent

5. Kayla Mendez, incumbent

6. David Nance, incumbent

7. Don Powell

Cumulative Voting

AISD Board members are elected according to an at-large cumulative voting method. This means that each voter has a number of votes equal to the number of trustee positions up for election. Voters may cast their votes in any combination for the candidates. Since they are elected at-large, AISD Board members do not represent a certain geographical area of the District; rather, they each represent all students and all residents of Amarillo ISD.

Election Information


Candidate Filing Information