Skip to main content

Tascosa High School Teacher Wins State Teacher of the Year Award

Posted Date: 10/14/2022

Tascosa High School Teacher Wins State Teacher of the Year Award

October 14, 2022 – Tascosa High School Speech & Debate teacher Ryan Lovell has received the Texas Speech Communication Association Teacher of the Year Award.

This award is presented to educators who have made overall contributions to educating students in speech, debate or theatre, have served in both curricular and co-curricular activities, have organized and continued an activity program, made significant and on-going contributions to the field and have contributed to the profession both in and out of state.

Lovell has worked tirelessly to serve his students and the AISD Speech & Debate program, and he also devotes much of his personal time to serving speech education efforts across the state. He currently serves as Vice President of TSCA and will be taking over as President at the end of their convention held earlier this month. Lovell has served on several committees, mentored many new speech teachers, presented numerous workshops and other training, and offered innumerable other services that benefit educators and students.

Lovell is one of several AISD speech teachers who have won the TSCA Teacher of the Year Award. Past award winners include:

  • Mellessa Denny, AHS Speech & Debate teacher and Fine Art Dept. Chair

  • Ann Shofner, Retired THS Speech & Debate teacher and Ryan's former teacher

  • Connie McKee, Retired AHS Speech & Debate teacher and WTAMU Speech Communication Professor & Deptartment Chair

  • Lou Ann Seabourn, Retired AISD Speech & Debate teacher